Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Hopi Code Talkers to be honored at ceremony

STATE CAPITOL, Phoenix – Hopi Code Talkers will be honored in a ceremony on Monday, May 23 from 10 a.m. to noon at the Hopi Veterans’ Memorial Center, SR 264, Mile Post 375.5, Kykotsmovi, Ariz.

Sen. Jack Jackson, Jr. will speak about Senate Concurrent Resolution 1009, which he sponsored, that honors the substantial contributions of the Hopi Code Talkers for their assistance in the battles of Guadalcanal, Peleliu, Tarawa, Saipan, Iwo Jima and Okinawa. It was passed by the Senate and the House of Representatives and was sent to Secretary of State Ken Bennett’s office.

“For years, the contributions of the ten Hopi Code Talkers were secret,” said Jackson. “This resolution is recognition by the state of Arizona of the sacrifices the Hopi Code Talkers made for our freedom. It is our obligation to pass on this knowledge to future generations. The resolution calls for the commemoration of the historical contributions of the Hopi and other Native American code talkers by schools and civic groups and I will work to make that possible.”

Speakers include Sen. Jack Jackson, Jr., Arizona Secretary of State Ken Bennett, John Dudas, Northern Regional Manager, Arizona Department of Veteran’s Services, Hopi Chairman LeRoy R. Shingoitewa, Hopi Vice Chairman Herman Honanie, VaNiesha Honani, U.S. Navy veteran and granddaughter of Code Talker Perry Honani, Sr., Clifford Qotsaquahu, a U.S. Army veteran and Bruce Talawyma, U.S. Marine Corps veteran.

There are no living Hopi Code Talkers. In lieu, families of the Hopi Code Talkers will be honored and recognized.

Hopi Code Talkers who served in the United States Army include: Franklin Shupla, Warren Koiyaquaptewa, Frank Chapella, Travis Yaiva, Charles Lomakema, Percival Navenma, Perry Honani, Sr. and Floyd Dann, Sr. Hopi Code Talkers who served in the United States Army Air Corps include Rex Pooyouma and Orville Wadsworth.

Thursday, May 12, 2011

Democratic lawmakers win Phoenix Pride award

STATE CAPITOL, PHOENIX – Three Democratic lawmakers will be honored for their support of the Phoenix lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community.

Sen. Kyrsten Sinema and Reps. Lela Alston and Katie Hobbs, all Phoenix lawmakers from District 15, have been selected for a 2011 Phoenix Pride Community Spirit Award.

“This is such a great honor and I am proud to represent the Phoenix LGBTQ community,” Alston said. “I will continue to fight for equality right here in Arizona and the rights for all people in the pursuit of happiness.”

Hobbs will give the keynote address at the Third Annual Pride Award Gala on June 11.

“As state legislators, this is who we work for — our constituents — no matter their race, religion, creed or sexual orientation,” Hobbs said. “I am fulfilled every day to know that the community I represent is out there working just as hard as I am to make a difference in our state.”

All three lawmakers have a long history of working with Phoenix’s gay community. As the chair of Arizona Together, Sinema and her organization became the first group in the country to defeat a same-sex marriage ban on the ballot.

“This award means so much to me, because it shows that working together is key in ensuring justice and fairness for all,” Sinema said. “I want to thank Phoenix Pride for bringing awareness to LGBTQ issues and I look forward to working together toward making sure all Arizonans have equal rights.”

For more information on Phoenix Pride, please visit www.phoenixpride.org.