Wednesday, March 28, 2018

Senate passes three measures from Senator Peshlakai to honor Native American veterans

STATE CAPITOL, PHOENIX – The Arizona State Senate today passed the last of three memorials introduced by Senator Jamescita Peshlakai that urge the Arizona Department of Transportation to designate portions of highways in northeastern Arizona in honor of Native American veterans. The memorials have been transmitted to the Arizona House of Representatives for final approval.

SCM 1013 urges designating the portion of U.S. Route 89 that is located between the Utah state line and Flagstaff as the "Native American Veterans Highway."

SCM 1014 urges designating the portions of State Highway 264 that fall under Navajo jurisdiction as the "Navajo Code Talker Highway" and the portions that fall under Hopi jurisdiction as the "Hopi Code Talker Highway."

SCM 1015 urges designating the portion of U.S. Route 160 that is located between the New Mexico state line and the junction of U.S. Route 89 as the "Native American Women Veterans Highway."
Sen. Peshlakai

"Arizona is home to almost 11,000 living Native American veterans like myself - men and women who have served our country with honor and dignity, including our beloved World War II Code Talkers," said Senator Peshlakai.

"By designating these sections of state highway in honor of their service and the service of those who are no longer with us, we will show the residents of northeastern Arizona and our visitors that our Native communities have and still do play a vital role in protecting our country. I sincerely hope my colleagues in the House of Representatives pass these memorials and ADOT acts on the Legislature's wish to designate these portions of highway in honor of Native American veterans."

Arizona State Senator Jamescita Mae Peshlakai represents Legislative District 7. The culturally diverse district spans the seven counties of Apache, Coconino, Gila, Graham, Mohave, Navajo, and Pinal — including nine tribes and the communities of Fredonia, Page, Winslow, Show Low, St. Johns, Eagar, and Springerville — and is the largest legislative district in the contiguous United States.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please leave your comment here: