Thursday, May 12, 2011

Democratic lawmakers win Phoenix Pride award

STATE CAPITOL, PHOENIX – Three Democratic lawmakers will be honored for their support of the Phoenix lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community.

Sen. Kyrsten Sinema and Reps. Lela Alston and Katie Hobbs, all Phoenix lawmakers from District 15, have been selected for a 2011 Phoenix Pride Community Spirit Award.

“This is such a great honor and I am proud to represent the Phoenix LGBTQ community,” Alston said. “I will continue to fight for equality right here in Arizona and the rights for all people in the pursuit of happiness.”

Hobbs will give the keynote address at the Third Annual Pride Award Gala on June 11.

“As state legislators, this is who we work for — our constituents — no matter their race, religion, creed or sexual orientation,” Hobbs said. “I am fulfilled every day to know that the community I represent is out there working just as hard as I am to make a difference in our state.”

All three lawmakers have a long history of working with Phoenix’s gay community. As the chair of Arizona Together, Sinema and her organization became the first group in the country to defeat a same-sex marriage ban on the ballot.

“This award means so much to me, because it shows that working together is key in ensuring justice and fairness for all,” Sinema said. “I want to thank Phoenix Pride for bringing awareness to LGBTQ issues and I look forward to working together toward making sure all Arizonans have equal rights.”

For more information on Phoenix Pride, please visit

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please leave your comment here: